Why I am a Pantheist

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

You feel reverence when you go to church on a Sunday. Good for you!
I am in church 24/7. The mountains are my cathedral, the oceans my sacred blood, the trees my holy relics. I feel reverence every time I look up at the stars, feel the grass beneath my feet, watch the sun rise and sink on the horizons, breathe in the air, hear water trickling or the wind whispering and roaring.

You believe the Earth is 6,000 years old and took seven days to make, and is the centre of creation.
I know it is much older than that, and is just one satellite around a small, insignificant star in a galaxy of billions of stars, with as many galaxies beyond.

Deep down, you believe that only followers of your particular religion are God’s chosen people. Other faiths do not worship your one true God.
I believe that all people are entitled to feel equally divine, for they are born of the stars. My church allows for all faiths, cultures, creeds and races. My one true God encompasses the whole of the cosmos, not just this little world.

You believe in an afterlife for which there is not one single shred of evidence, and have a vague faith in the persistence of the soul.
I believe in the conservation of energy. No matter or energy can be destroyed. Therefore what I am only changes form. I am an infinitessimal drop in the unending beauty of the cosmic ocean.

You admire the true word of God.
I admire a system of enquiry that constantly grows with our understanding, that is humble enough to reject ideas held as revered tenets when new evidence overthrows old thinking and beliefs.

 “When scientific pantheists say WE REVERE THE UNIVERSE we are not talking about a supernatural being. We are talking about the way our senses and our emotions force us to respond to the overwhelming mystery and power that surrounds us. We are part of the universe. Our earth was created from the universe and will one day be reabsorbed into the universe. We are made of the same matter and energy as the universe. We are not in exile here: we are at home.”
~ Paul Harrison

DSC00253

“I believe in God, only I spell it Nature.”
– Frank Lloyd Wright

About Solaris

My name's Nigel - I'm a child of the 1960s - with a head full of moon landings, fab gear, science fiction, prog-rock concept albums and various other clutter, I use this space to empty some of it out into the Universe.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

